Civil Service Commission

Malvern Civil Service Commission

A Civil Service Commission is created in each borough where a police force or paid fire apparatus operators is being maintained.

The Civil Service Commission consists of three commissioners who are qualified electors of the borough, and are appointed by the borough council initially to serve for a term of six years. Any vacancy occurring in the Commission is filled by the borough council for the unexpired term within the period of thirty days after such vacancy occurs.

Each member of the Commission, before entering upon the discharge of the duties of his office, shall take an oath or affirmation to support the Constitution of the United States and of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and to perform his official duties with fidelity. The Civil Service Commissioners receive no compensation.

The duties of a Civil Service Commissioner are spelled out in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Borough Code.

Current members of the Malvern Civil Service Commission include:

  • Lori Coyle
  • Lonnie Crawford
  • William F. Huffman